Trump Issues New Travel Ban

Washington, March 6 – U.S. President Donald Trump on Monday issued a new travel ban blocking immigration from six Muslim-majority nations, six weeks after a federal court stopped his previous order.

Missing from his earlier order is Iraq. The new ban is against Syria, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen.

A fact sheet issued by the Trump administration says that Iraq will “increase cooperation with the U.S. government on the vetting of its citizens applying for a visa to travel to the United States.” The U.S. military is working closely with Iraqi armed forces to defeat ISIS in Mosul.

The original inclusion of Iraq angered many Iraqis, including the parliament in Baghdad, which passed a resolution saying it would bar American citizens from visiting Iraq. Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi however refused to implement the order.

People from the six banned nations who already hold legal residence in the United States will not be barred from entering, as they were in the earlier ban.

Also anyone from the six countries who already holds a valid visa will be able to enter the U.S.

The new ban could face legal challenges like the first one did and could also wind up and being blocked by a judge.

Source: Qatar News Agency