MOPH Announces Mandatory Quarantine for Passengers from India and 5 Asian Countries as of 29 Apr

Human Services

The Ministry of Public Health (MOPH) has announced that due to the emergence of a new strain of the Coronavirus (COVID-19) in India, and in order to preserve public health in the State of Qatar, it was decided that no exemptions to the hotel quarantine policy would apply. MOPH added that the following measures must be implemented for passengers coming from India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and the Philippines, whether they are coming to the State of Qatar through direct flight or via other countries

The measures include:

  • A mandatory COVID-19 PCR test is conducted 48 hours before departure from a health center approved by a local health authority in the country from which a passenger comes. Nobody will be allowed to board the flight to Qatar without a valid Negative PCR certificate.
  • All arrivals from these countries must undergo a mandatory 10-day quarantine in designated facilities, or a 14-day quarantine at Mekhaines facility.
  • Home quarantine criteria will never be applicable for passengers coming from the abovementioned countries. There will be no exemptions for people who have received the two doses of the vaccine, or recovered from a previous virus infection during the past six months.
  • All arrivals from the abovementioned countries must undergo a COVID-19 PCR test within one day of their arrival at the quarantine facilities or Mekhaines facility. The PCR test will be repeated during and before the end of the quarantine period.
  • All passengers transiting through the State of Qatar must bring the a valid Negative PCR certificate prior to travel as mentioned in the first point. But, in case they require another PCR test for meeting the requirements of their onward destinations, they can undergo the test at Hamad International Airport on a fee of QR300 per test.

The abovementioned measures are effective from Thursday, 29 April 2021 at 12:00 AM (00:00 hours) Doha time.


Source: Government of Qatar