TBL teams ready to rumble in playoffs, Fener vs. Galatasaray

The Turkish Basketball League (TBL) regular season ended over the weekend and all eyes are now on the upcoming mouth-watering playoff clash between the finalists of last season — Fenerbahce and Galatasaray.

Other pairings in the playoffs: Anadolu Efes vs. Turk Telekom, Daruiiafaka Doiui vs. Banvit and Pinar Kariiyaka vs. Trabzonspor Medical Park. The winner of the Fenerbahce-Galatasaray encounter will face the Kariiyaka-Banvit victor.

Fenerbahce, enjoying a fantastic season with a berth in the big-time Euroleague Final Four, finished the season at the top of the table after routing Beiiktai Integral Forex 94-74 on the road in their all-Istanbul clash on Saturday. The match was halted twice because of the swearing and cursing of the home audience. The fans were later removed, and the remainder of the game was played behind closed doors. Melih Mahmutoilu scored 22 points and Bogdan Bogdanovic added 20 in victory. Hilton Armstrong led the offense of the hosts with 30 points.

Elsewhere TED Kolejliler edged Galatasaray Liv Hospital 88-84 in overtime on the road to avoid relegation after the regular time ended in a 71-71 tie on Saturday. Coach Ergin Ataman’s Galatasaray was placed eighth in the rankings and made it to the playoffs thanks to a superior head-to-head record with Beiiktai. Kalin Lucas paced TED Kolejliler with 29, while Zoran Erceg’s 25 points did not save Galatasaray from defeat.

Anadolu Efes took the second spot by crushing Turk Telekom 88-67 on the road on Saturday, while the defeat placed the Ankara side seventh and pitted them against Anadolu Efes yet again, this time in the playoffs. Stratos Perperoglou led the scoring for the winners with 23 points.

Trabzonspor Medical Park edged NSK Eskiiehir 93-91 at home to take fifth place and advance to the playoffs for the first time in its history on Saturday. NSK Eskiiehir was relegated to the second division with the defeat.

Other results: Daruiiafaka Doiui 76, Istanbul Buyukiehir Belediye 74 Banvit 95, TOFAi 67 Royal Hali Gaziantep BB 87, Torku Konyaspor 78 and Pinar Kariiyaka 88, Muratbey Uiak Sportif 80.