Prime minister’s approval to be required for postings of senior bureaucrats

The circular released by the Prime Ministry last week states that the tenure of officials appointed for a temporary period will end in February 2016. The mandate concerns all senior positions in the bureaucracy with the exception of several institutions, including the Supreme Board of Judges and Prosecutors (HSYK), the Court of Accounts, the State Audit Institution, the National Intelligence Organization (MİT) and the Turkish Armed Forces (TSK). The prime minister’s approval will be needed for all new appointments of executive posts in state institutions. The circular outlined that the duration of service for acting officials will be reduced to three months.

Currently, many senior positions in the bureaucracy are occupied by officials who were appointed temporarily. Acting Treasury Undersecretary Cavit Dagdas, acting Privatization Administration (OİB) President Ahmet Aksu, acting Ministry of Agriculture Undersecretary Nihat Pakdil and acting Social Security Institution (SGK) President Cevdet Ceylan are among the temporarily appointed government officials.

The circular also brought news of changes to institutions whose shareholders include the state. Accordingly, the prime minister’s approval will be sought for postings or nominations to the management or auditing boards of these institutions.