8 parties to participate in Azerbaijan municipal elections tomorrow

Baku: “Tomorrow, municipal elections will be held in 5,015 polling stations. 128 of them are temporary polling stations,” Chairman of the Central Elections Commission Mazahir Panahov said at today’s press conference, APA reports.

Panahov said 37,077 candidates are running in the municipal elections. 8 political parties – New Azerbaijan Party, Civil Solidarity Party, Hope Party, Social Democratic Party of Azerbaijan, National Revival Movement Party, Party for Democratic Reforms, Great Establishment Party and Motherland Party – will participate in the elections. Totally, 30 party members will take part in the elections.

15,035 members will be elected to 11,607 municipalities in 118 constituencies in Azerbaijan on December 23. Under the Article #8.2 of the Election Code, the Election Day is considered a non-working day within the territory where election (referendum) is held. Thus, according to this provision of the article, December 23 will be a non-working day in Azerbaijan.