UNGA elects four non-permanent members for Security Council, two others to split term

NEW YORK, June 28 (KUNA) — UN General Assembly elected four out of five non-permanent members for the Security Council, postponing the decision for the last seat until Wednesday, due to a split term proposal between Italy and the Netherlands.
The Member states elected Sweden, Ethiopia, Bolivia and Kazakhstan for 2017-18 term, while Italy and the Netherlands were in a dead heat for one remaining seat. Five rounds later, after a tie of 95 votes each, the two countries suggested a split term for the Western European and Others Group (WEOG) seat in the Council.
The WEOG to meet Wednesday morning regarding the proposal of a one-year split term.
Member states came together in the GA hall to elect one seat for the African Group, one seat for the Group of Asia and the Pacific small island developing States, one seat for the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States, and two seats for the Western European and Others Group.
Under an amendment to the UN Charter that went into effect in 1965, the UNGA increased the number of non-permanent members in the Security Council from six to 10, with five new members elected for a two-year period every year. This brought the membership of Security Council, the primary UN body tasked with the maintenance of international peace and security matters, to 10 non-permanent members, who sit alongside the five permanent, veto-wielding members: China, France, Russia, Britain and the United States. (end) mao.bs

Related Post
BEIJING, Oct. 23, 2017 /PRNewswire/ — LONGi Green Energy Technology Co., Ltd. announced today that
لندن، 20 أكتوبر 2017/PRNewswire/ — الجهاز المذهل الجديد يجمع فلسفة الجمال الراقي مع الأداء العالي،
سنغافورة، 23 أكتوبر 2017/PRNewswire/ — تعيين سلوان فنج في منصب نائب الرئيس – أوروبا والشرق