AK Party’s candidate named RTUK president

Nominated as a candidate from the ranks of the ruling Justice and Development Party (AK Party), Yerlikaya secured the post with support from the Nationalist Movement Party (MHP).

MHP member Esat Cıplak was elected as vice president in return for the MHP’s support for the AK Party during the voting process.

The number of members from each party in RTUK is determined according to the number of seats they hold in Parliament.

In the June 7 election, the AK Party failed to secure the 276 seats in Parliament it needed to continue its 13 years of single-party rule, as well as its majority in RTUK.

However, it regained the majority in the Nov. 1 snap election by winning 317 seats in Parliament, paving the way to dominate RTUK once again.

The AK Party was previously under fire for using RTUK as a tool to punish dissident media outlets, as five of the nine members of RTUK belong to the AK Party.


Related Post
LONDON, March 19, 2018 /PRNewswire/ — Publicis.Sapient, the digital business transformation hub of Publicis Groupe, focused
شيكاغو، 19  آذار/مارس 2018 / بي آر نيوزواير / – في 16 مارس، ستقوم منظمة
دبي، الإمارات العربية المتحدة، 19 مارس / آذار، 2018 /PRNewswire/ — أعلن مكتب الخدمات العامة